cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ok.. since I'm fairly new to this.. I need a little help.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Ok.. since I'm fairly new to this.. I need a little help.

I recieved a phone call from Palisades collection a couple weeks ago. Claiming that I owed them some money for an AT&T cell bill. I thought it was bogus since I've been with T-mobile for over 8 years.

I asked them to mail me something validating the debt. They did.. it was from 2002! A business partner had kept a phone that was on our plan (I had signed on it) after we agreed to turn them in.

For some reason, AT&T had never notified me about this, and I'm assuming just sold the collection account. Fine.. I called back yesterday to pay. (They have NOT reported on my credit, and I wanted to head that off at the pass) paid in full over the phone, with their assurance that it wouldn't report on my credit.

Just pulled my experian report, and I'll be damned! There is an inquiry from them yesterday! CRAP!

I need to get this off...

So the question is.. does the company that pulls the inquiry have the ability to retract it? And why the Hell would they pull it in the first place if I was paying them right then???

Frustrated!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Jutz
Valued Contributor

Re: Ok.. since I'm fairly new to this.. I need a little help.

I doubt it was a hard inquiry, I assume they just soft pulled you as part of the process.  Who did you call and pay though, AT&T or the CA?  I assume you mean the CA. 

• Current: EQ FICO 706, TU FICO 701, EX FICO 706 | Starting Score: 525 (05/2012)
  • Starting total revolving credit: $1100 | Current total revolving credit: $36,700
  • Inquiries (12 Months): EQ 2 TU 1 EX 1 | Most Recent: 1/21/2014
Chase Freedom $9500
DCU Visa $10000
Capital One QS $2000
AMEX BCE $3000
Lowe's CC $8500
WalMart CC $3100
BOA Platinum $600
AMEX Gold NPSL
Message 2 of 5
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor