Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Old Debt - Maiden Name

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Old Debt - Maiden Name

Hi there,

Newbie here... finally going to get my head out of the sand.  I am sure glad I found this place!

I received a collection notice from PRA for a debt that is so old it's not listed on my CR.  It states the OC and the old CA and also lists my maiden name from 12 years ago.  My question is, I want to send a DV letter and from what I have read, I need to keep it simple and not validate anything for them.  So, do I list my married name in the correspondance instead of my maiden?

Thanks in advance!

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
DaBears
Senior Contributor

Re: Old Debt - Maiden Name

Are you wanting to pay off the debt? Being 12 yrs old the debt will always exist they just can't report it after 7.5 yrs.

Message 2 of 13
guiness56
Epic Contributor

I would send it with the name they have.  Also, just type your name.

What state are you in?

Message 3 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

No...  I didn't think of it just not being reported therefor not hurting my CR until you mentioned it... (head in sand).  Do I just request a C&D?

Pretty much every bad remark is going to drop off my CR by early 2014 with the exception of Student loans (which I will clean up shortly)... since everything is so old, I am thinking I just leave it alone?  The reason I ask is my husband and I would like to buy a house.  I 'm trying to clean up both of our CR's but from what I have read, debts that are really old don't weigh in your score as much as recent negatives... Please correct me if I have misunderstood. 

Message 4 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

We are in Illinois.

Message 5 of 13
guiness56
Epic Contributor

When an item falls off your CR for age it does not go away.  It goes into your credit file.