Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Old Judgement and the CC company is out of business

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Old Judgement and the CC company is out of business

Hello, newbie here...I was sued by Providian in 2009, they won a default judgement against me; the assigned collection attorney firm was North Star Acquisition LLC. As of July 2016, the judgement is no longer on my credit reports. Providian went out of business and was sold to Washington Mutual in 2005 and eventually sold to Chase in 2008. If I am required to pay the judgement who do I pay? I don't know where to start. TIA

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Old Judgement and the CC company is out of business

You should start by going to or calling the civil clerks office where the judgement resides and find out who currently owns the judgement.

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi donny10 I went to the clerks office already made copies of the court file and there is no indication of who owns the judgement now.

Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi donny10 I went to the clerks office already made copies of the court file and there is no indication of who owns the judgement now.

Robert please...

Robert will pop up and advise.

Message 4 of 8
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

I would begin by contacting the attorney who represented the judgment creditor, and requesting the name of the heir in title to the debt.

What is a bit confusing is who was actually the prevailing plaintiff.

If the debt collector did not own the debt, and was merely an assigned collection agent, then the prevailing plaintiff would likely have been the creditor.

I would contact the attorney of record for the plaintiff named in the civil action.