Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Old account issue

tag
sayantan1979

Old account issue

Hi

I used to have a Bank of America credit card when I was a student back in 2007. Once, when BofA was offering a 1 year free subscription for Mcafee antivirus, I went ahead and opted for it. Meanwhile, I had to go back to India, and didn't know that the Antivirus account was on auto-renewal mode.

When I was back in India, I didn't receive any information on the amount that they debited from my card, as the old e-mail address was the university one, and the phone numbers also had changed. Much later, one fine morning, when I thought of checking if the account was still alive, I realized that the auto-renewal had costed me $45, and it was overdue for a long time. I didn't even think of the account as I was happy assuming that since I didn't spend anything on the card, it was not required to check the status.

Now that I am back in US on employment, I am finding it difficult to get approval for any credit cards. Even my apartment forced to me to add a friend of mine as a joint applicant. I can't believe that those 45 dollars are costing me this much. I didn't want to cheat anybody, and now also, I am ready to pay off the amount that I owed to BofA. Can you please suggest what can I do to get rid of this mess?

Thanks

Sayantan Das

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
guiness56
Epic Contributor

Re: Old account issue

Is BoA the one reporting or is there also a CA reporting?

Is it a credit card that has been charged off?

Message 2 of 15
sayantan1979

Recently, I checked my Experian credit report. What they say is that the account had been charged off, and BoA passed it on to a collection agency named Trident Asset Management. The status shows as - "Collection Amount. $49 past due as of Mar 2013".

Message 3 of 15
DaBears
Senior Contributor