Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Once I pay down cards

tag
christina35
Established Member

Once I pay down cards

How long will it take for me to see a rise in my scores?

My scores in January were right around 600-635, then I had to open a care credit card because of a root canal, then the lender we spoke with told me to apply for a credit card to get my scores up just those few points. Well guess what they plummeted! Smiley Indifferent

My scores right now are in the 570 range now & I'm just heart broken. I've been working since Nov of 2011 and just when I thought my scores were so close to getting to 640 so we could apply for a house... they just fell.

I have a VS card which is at 0

In April we were hit with a huge truck repair bill & unfortunately had to utilize our credit cards. I'm looking at our finances right now and I can have Walmart and CO paid off completely (Both have balances of 250.00 or less).... However our CU Mastercard is sitting at 950.00 with a CL of 1000. I plan on paying at least 600 (07.02.13) on that one, then the rest probably the next half of July, August 1 paycheck.

How fast can I expect to see my scores rise?

Also do you think it's hurting that I have 5 open Credit Cards under my name/AU? Or is that okay I just need to get them down to zero and 1 with less than 10% utilization.

As always thanks for your thoughts.

PS all cards are about 6 months new & all have been paid on time.

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
DrJim
Frequent Contributor

Re: Once I pay down cards

As far as utilization is concerned you will see a jump as soon as the new balance is posted.  The maxed out card is killing you.

The inquiries for the new cards will hurt for a year, but some folks say they hurt less after 6 months.  They will stay on your report for two years.