Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Oy vey! My credit!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Oy vey! My credit!

Disclaimer: I just joined and don't understand all the acronyms and abreviations yet.

I've been working on my credit for a long time, and while it's steadily increasing, I'm growing a little impatient. lol

I've come up from somewhere in the upper 300's to currently a 545 with Equifax. I checked my Fico acouple weeks ago and it's even better. I'm finally finished owing money to collections. But of course those buggers are just hangin out on my report making me look bad. 

I have the two paid collections accounts and 6 negative accounts. All from a long time ago, between 2007 and 2010.

Also, my father added me to 2 of his oldest credit cards which seems to have influenced my score in a good way.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. And again, I'm a complete noob with the cool kid lingo around here. Smiley Tongue

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Jamex
Frequent Contributor

Re: Oy vey! My credit!

Congrats on the progress so far, especially on getting those collections paid. That sets the stage for the next big step (and a new abbreviation): Goodwill, also known as GW around here.

What you are going to do is basically write simple, personal letters to the collection agencies to ask if they would be willing to delete the collection tradeline from your report. `There are a bunch of examples on this site and elsewhere if you use Google. You may get a response that says "we can't do that" or "the reporting is accurate," or you may get no response at all, but just keep sending them every 30 days till you get what you want. It just costs you a stamp, and all it takes is one friendly rep who decides to help you out, and it's gone.