Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PFD questions

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

PFD questions

I am very new to all of this, so, please, bear with me. I want to apply for a mortgage, but I have an old account in collections, probably about 4 years old or so. If I simply settled this account, would it count against me? Or should I pay it in full? Or should I go for the PFD? If I go that route, how do I start? I have read a lot of advice that says to send a DV letter first, but are they even required to validate after this long? And would it be wise to offer the full amount?
I feel I must say that no one is bothering me to pay this account. No letters, no phone calls, nothing.
The debt is for a little over $1000. It is from Procollect.
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: PFD questions

I would send the company a PFD letter (there are a bunch of templates online), there is always verbage in the letter about a time frame that the company has to respond to you.  If they don't accept the PFD I would settle the account in full, that looks better than settling and your mortgage company will expect you to have everything taken care of on your report.  The next step would be to dispute the item once it shows paid on your credit report, they company has 30 days to verify the debt and if they don't it will be deleted off of your report.  If that doesn't get the item deleted, you'll be in the same boat as I am with a collection from that long ago and that's waiting out the 7 years....  However an older debt like that isn't impacting your score at this point.  Good Luck!

Message 2 of 7
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

@Anonymous wrote: