Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PRA response to DV Letter

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

PRA response to DV Letter

Hi all,

Portfolio Recovery Associates sent a response to my DV letter. My question is, what documentation establishes the validity of my debt? Is a print-out of my online statement enough? It may be a dumb question but I want to make sure that I'm doing this correctly. It's my first time dealing with CA's alone. 

What's funny is they currently have two more of my accounts and they did not send any correspondence regarding them. We shall see...

Thanks in advance!

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: PRA response to DV Letter

There is no clear answer to the question of what constitutes adequate validation of a debt other than... adequate validation is what a judge says it is or rules that it is lacking.

FDCPA 809(b) does not provide any specific details of what does or does not constutute adequate validation of a debt.

When a statute is unspecific, it is up to the courts to interpret its meaning based on the facts of any given case.

Case law interpretation is not consisistent across the federal circuits, but the general consensus is that a debt collector is required to investigate and make a finding supported by that investigation, but is not requred to provide that documenttion or "prove" the validity in their response to the DV.  If a consumer challenges the adequacy, they can obtain a consideration of the evidence and finding of lack of adequate validation only by getting the matter before a judge.

A printout of a statement from the OC is usually considered under most case law as more than adequate.  However, if you have your own evidence that would, in your opinion, result in a contrary finding, then you can bring action for violaton of FDCPA 809(b) if they thereafter resume collection activites.