Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pay for Deletion - Needs Signature?

tag
HappySarah

Pay for Deletion - Needs Signature?

Hi,

A collection agency account appeared in my credit report, and after reading a lot in your helpful forum, I called the agency and asked for a Pay for Deletion. Suprisingly, they agreed to do it pretty easy, and even agreed to fax me a written agreement to remove all data from my report. That was last night and because I didn't have a fax machone in my house, I asked them to wait till the next morning. When I called this morning they were still willing to do it, EXCEPT that when I asked them if the agreement letter is SIGNED by an Authorized Person, they said that they usually don't sign those PFD letters and it's a standard practice! I told them that I will only pay if it's signed, because otherwise it's not a legal document. They tried to tell me that if it has the company's letterhead, then that should be enough.

I have no knowledge of the law, and I honestly don't know if they're lying or not. I read stories about people who got PFD in writing and still had to fight the CA for breaching the agreement and not deleting the account. I just want to cover all my options.

Thoughts?

Thank you.

Sarah

Message 1 of 19
18 REPLIES 18
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: Pay for Deletion - Needs Signature?

It would seal the fact of written contract if signed agreement were received, so yes, it is desirable.

But to require it as an absolute condition is not something I would advocate.

They have legitimate basis for not wanting to put an official stamp on their agreement.  Deltion based on payment of a debt is contrary to their reporting agreement with the CRAs, who have a polcy against such deletions.  They most likely dont want formal documents floating about.