cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Paying Collection Lawyer for 2 years, Cap One not showing any payments at all ???

tag
Rvan1961
Valued Member

Paying Collection Lawyer for 2 years, Cap One not showing any payments at all ???

TIA for any help with this. I have been paying a collection lawyers firm monthly payments on a discharged Capital One account. The debt is valid and it is mine. I have been making monthly payments for almost 2 years, but on my CR it shows (34) 30 day lates and a ton of 60 and 90 day lates.

Nowhere on my CR's does it show I have been paying ???

This is so frustrating because I am trying to pay this off ASAP and it is has actually lowered my Credit score since I started making payments and caused me to be denied new credit (just last week). The denial stated this CapOne acct was the only reason they did not approve me (

Should I contact Cap One and have them grab my case back from this lawyer so I can PFD, or can I PFD through this lawyer ?

Also, I can't find any number to talk to anyone at CapOne, they say I have to go through this attorney (who never returns my calls)

Starting Score: 622
Current Score: 650
Goal Score: 750

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
pizzadude
Credit Mentor

Re: Paying Collection Lawyer for 2 years, Cap One not showing any payments at all ???

Does Cap1 still own the debt ?  Or was it just sold off to a CA/attorney ?   Is the Cap1 account closed or still showing recent late payments ?

Negotiating a PFD is always the best option, but since you likely can't do that any longer you could perhaps negotiate a final payment to settle it out and ask Cap1 to delete the account ( assuming that they still own the debt ).

March2010 FICO® ~ 695 TU, 653 EQ, 697 EX
Message 2 of 7
Rvan1961
Valued Member

Re: Paying Collection Lawyer for 2 years, Cap One not showing any payments at all ???

Sorry for delay, I wanted to wait for TU to mail my official credit report.