Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Paying Off A Credit Card -- Help!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Paying Off A Credit Card -- Help!

My largest credit card balance is with USAA. My wife and I got a Mastercard from them in 2009. It has a $6,000 limit on it and we've unfortunately carried a balance on it between $4,000 and $6,000 pretty much since we've had the card. Slowly filled it up and have paid off chunks then just filled it back up. It's also our lowest interest rate.

Basically as it sits, I have a balance of $5,800 on this card and I have the money to pay it off.... but I am afraid to pay it off.

a) It has our biggest credit limit.

b) It has our lowest interest rate.

c) It is our second oldest account.

Long story short, I am afraid that if I pay it off they'll decrease the credit line or just give us the boot and we actually would like to eliminate all of our other credit cards and use soley this one... it also has the best rewards.

What advice do you guys have for this? Should I just pay off chunks every month so as to not pop up on their radar? Have you guys heard anything about USAA ever reducing credit limits?

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Goal850
Regular Contributor

Re: Paying Off A Credit Card -- Help!

I am in the same position. I would like to hear any suggestions as well.
Message 2 of 9
Vtso4
Established Member

Theres no reason to believe they would do anything harmful if you pay off your entire balance. Its a great thing not to owe. Also you wont have to worry about the interest rate since the balance will finally be zero. Credit limits dont decrease because of a good history of payments. Infact they INCREASE. Pay it off and keep the balance low. Im not sure

where youd have heard such a thing but thats totally false. Pay it off now. 

Message 3 of 9
Goal850
Regular Contributor