Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Paying on a charge-off(s) *newbie*

tag
singingshay
New Visitor

Paying on a charge-off(s) *newbie*

I am a newbie & have a question.  At one time I had an account through Dell Financial Services and it was charged off.  They offered me a settlement and payment arrangements that I have been paying religiously every month for quite a while.  Well my LAST payment is due next month.  So, I called the collection agency and asked them if this would be deleted from my credit report or what would happen once I paid it.  They told me to contact Dell Financial Services 30 days after I make the last payment. They said that Dell reports to the credit bureau, not them.  Is this correct?

Also - I am finally in a financial situation where I can pay off my old debt and want to work toward improving/rebuilding my credit.  I barely have any new credit at all, everything has been in my husband's name.  I do have a couple of old positive accounts - Honda Financial Services & Chase (but I was dumb and closed the account) I also have some charge offs with zero balances affecting my credit. I have been googling what to do and am coming up w/ mixed information.  Then when i visited myfico.com I learned of PFD letters.. so I assuming that this is my next step.

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
aces33
New Contributor

Re: Paying on a charge-off(s) *newbie*