Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Penn Credit Deletion Success

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Penn Credit Deletion Success

When I was an undergrad way back in 2011, I ran into some serious medical issues. I was able to pay off all of the bills over the next few months, or so I thought. I graduated in May of 2011 and went off to grad school a few hundred miles away. It turns out there was one doctor who had an unpaid balance of 212 dollars after insurance retracted a claim approval. The doctor sent the bill to my old address on a few occasions. Needless to say, after a few attempts at my old address, they sent the bill to Penn Credit.

I found out about the collection last November and attempted to pay Penn Credit. I attempted to negotiate for a PFD, but they weren't having it. I figured I'd call back in a few months and try for another PFD. If that didn't work, I would just pay it off and ask for a GW deletion. When I called Penn Credit back in January of 2015, I was informed that they no longer owned my debt; it had been reclaimed by the medical facility where I was treated back in 2011.

I contacted the medical facility and paid the bill. I then contacted Penn Credit and asked for GW deletion, explaining the situation. I was met with opposition and was told that no such thing could be done. About two weeks ago Penn Credit reported the debt to TransUnion as being open for collection. I contacted TransUnion and was told that the report came from Penn Credit. I immediately contacted Penn Credit and asked why they had reported a debt that had been paid off as being open for collection. I was cut off as I waited quite a while for a supervisor.