cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Permanent and Total Disability credit rebuild.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Permanent and Total Disability credit rebuild.

Let me start by saying I have always had horrible credit. It's usually been 550. I'm not good with money. I had roughly 10k in school loans. I found out a few years ago there is an option of having your student loans waived if you are disabled. About four years ago, I looked into this process and decided I wanted to go back to school and complete my degree. So, I did the 'rehab' thing and for 11 months I made perfect payments. The problem occurred when I was released from rehab and assigned a new loan officer. The payments tripled, and that's when I let it go thinking I had no hope. Well, this month I decided to go ahead and apply for the process of having my loans forgiven due to my disabilities. I started with the Nelnets online application. It took about 20 minutes to do. I followed up with a phone call about two weeks later. They were nice, and they informed me the Social Security had pre approved me. I was emailed the paper I need to sign and date, and was done that evening. It literally took 72 hours after that to see the 'green flag' next to my school loan. I believe it said 'paid in full'. I have had a really hard time with credit due to my school loans. That pretty much was my only debt..not true it said like $117. I realized after poking around, that my Fico is 659, the highest it's ever been. All of my old debt basically rolled off, and I only had my school loans. I know it's the third Sunday, when Experian gets the updated school loan info to update accounts...that's literally in two weeks. So now, I'm eager and excited to possibly see a raise in my Fico soon! I'm going to wait to apply for a new credit card till after I know what the updated score is. The research I've seen suggests that it may be very realistic for a Fico increase, wish me luck...see you soon.