Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Personal loans to pay off credit cards

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Personal loans to pay off credit cards

Hey all,

I was hoping for some input. I'm just beginning to work on my credit. Currently my experian and equifax are at 590 and transunion is at 650. I currently have a personal loan at 4.5k that I took in September. I have about 4k in credit cards and these are at 95% utilization. I was told my credit would go up anywhere from 20 - 40 pts if I pay my cards off. I'm wondering if I take a personal loan to pay off my cards and refi the current personal loan, will this negatively affect my credit or improve it?

I'm looking at potentially prequalifying for a mortgage in April and don't want to drop my scores any lower, since I'm right at the cusp of an FHA.

Thanks!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Personal loans to pay off credit cards

@Anonymous wrote:

Hey all,

I was hoping for some input. I'm just beginning to work on my credit. Currently my experian and equifax are at 590 and transunion is at 650. I currently have a personal loan at 4.5k that I took in September. I have about 4k in credit cards and these are at 95% utilization. I was told my credit would go up anywhere from 20 - 40 pts if I pay my cards off. I'm wondering if I take a personal loan to pay off my cards and refi the current personal loan, will this negatively affect my credit or improve it?

I'm looking at potentially prequalifying for a mortgage in April and don't want to drop my scores any lower, since I'm right at the cusp of an FHA.

Thanks!

Whether its worth doing really depends on the terms of the loan you can get. Personally with only 4K of credit card debt, I would look at getting it down without using other debt.

Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable