cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please advise: Judgement disappeared from credit report.... but then I get bank levy notice

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Please advise: Judgement disappeared from credit report.... but then I get bank levy notice

Hello!

I'm a California resident, and back in 2009 I was sued by Arrow Financial for  $7000 as I was unable to pay my credit card (originally $3500). I found the papers on the ground outside my door and foolishly ignored them. In early 2015, the judgement disappeared from all three of my credit reports. I thought I was in the clear.

This week (Merry Christmas 2016!) I got a packet in the mail from a neighboring county's sherrif's department explaining that "The judgement creditor seeks to levy upon property [...] ANY AND ALL ACCOUNTS IN THE JUDGEMENT DEBTOR'S NAME" with my SSN listed. The documents are clearly official and legitimate. I now owe more than $13,000 and am accruing interest at more than $2 a day.

Currently, I still have access to my bank account and its (meager) assets are not frozen. I am disabled and receive Social Security; I know that is protected. I have some questions. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much!

1) I've prepared a Claim of Exemption form along with a Financial Statement and a Declaration. Should I mail it immediately to the sheriff's office? I can definitely show financial hardship and I have 10 days to return it.
2) I have mixed funds with the bank account including gifts and small revenue from side jobs. My bank balance is generally kept very low (less than $2,000). Are future Social Security and other deposits at risk in case the account is frozen?
3) Why isn't my bank account frozen yet?
4) Can my bank account be frozen at all due to the Social Security direct deposit if I keep the balance at or below the deposit amount?