Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Poor spending habits + LOADS of CCs = low scores

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Poor spending habits + LOADS of CCs = low scores

So here's the deal. I'm in my early 30s, married with 1 child. My spouse and I gross approximately $120k/year and I am up for a promotion that could bump that up by 10k. I'm a web professional and my spouse is an auto tech. We are swimming in debt and I want to wipe out ALL debt except for our mortgage. 

I recently started taking steps in the right direction. Here is our debt breakdown:

$240k mortgage
$23k across 2 car loans
$37k across 11 credit cards (all maxed). 

- I closed ALL of our credit cards except the two with the highest limit ($20k + $8k) because I want to keep those for future use once they're paid off (one is an Amex tied to Costco, the other is with our Credit Union) - I know my spending habits and wanted to ensure I wouldn't touch those cards ever again, so I closed them.

- I signed up (like an idiot) with DebtWave (CC Counseling Company) but just cancelled their service after 3 months yesterday to take this on myself.
$58k in student loans (a total of I think 12 small loans)

I tried to apply for consolidation loans ($10k to knock out the debt for the 9 cards I closed) through Avant, Upstart, Prosper and Lending Club and got denied for ALL of them. (Our scores are low-mid 600s)
We have ONE collection from 2009 that was paid off like 5 years ago. Beyond that no negatives except a mistake on Amazon Store Card's part of marking us as 60+ days late one time. 

Any suggestions on a lender that might actually help us? The reason for denial is always just because of our utilization but THAT IS THE PURPOSE OF THE LOAN! To just drop all of that debt onto ONE payment so we can focus ALL efforts on paying off the ONE loan instead of 11 cards. So obnoxious. 

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
newmomnewme
Valued Contributor

Re: Poor spending habits + LOADS of CCs = low scores