cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Quick rebuild for mortgage...and plans for after approval?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Quick rebuild for mortgage...and plans for after approval?

Newbie here...go easy on me, please.

HOLY COW!  I didn't think I was going to be this wordy!  Apologies if this is too much, but any advice the "pros" can give me would be greatly appreciated.

I have historically had good, but not great credit.  A recent unemployment encouraged my wife and I to relocate and we sold our house.  In searching for a new mortgage, we're getting hit by a couple of my mistakes.  My scores from the lender's report pull show me at (with adverse info):

EFX Beacon 5 - 647

-Time since delinquency is too recent or unknown

- amount owed on revolving accounts is too high

- number of accounts with delinquency

- time since most recent acount opening is too short

XPN FICO II - 668

- Ratio of balance to limit on bank or revolving or other rev accts too high

- too many accounts with balances

- length of time accounts have been established

TUC FICO Classic 04 - 637

- Time since delinquency is too recent or unknown

- Proportion of balances to credit limits is too high on bank revolving or other revolving accounts

- number of established accounts

- Time since most recent account opening is too short

Full disclosure, I had a 30-day late reported on a $240 past due balance in December 2015 on a bank credit card that had a 5700 balance on a 5500 limit.  I got up-to-date with that and used proceeds from the sale of our house to pay that off just this past week.  I have also written a "goodwill" letter to the lender (SunTrust) to own up to the mistake and see if they'll consider removing it.

The other items on my report include:

1 mortgage with Chase, current, never late but we did have it modified under HAMP, which shows up.  We closed last week and this should hopefully be reflected soon.