Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebuilding Credit

tag
mebell
Regular Contributor

Rebuilding Credit

Hello everyone, I am new to myFICO and am trying to figure out the best plan of action to improve my credit. I have been reviewing other people's situations, but decided to post my own because it seems that everyones for the most part is unique and have different plans to improve their credit.

The Good: I have 3 CCs that I routinely pay (no late payments on any), as well as constantly carry low balances.

The Bad: I have 2 negative accounts from when I was young and dumb and let those credit card accounts go to collections. Total I have 3 accounts in collections (1 of them is a phone company from when I was younger).

I was wanting some advice for the best way to take care of these accounts and how to go about doing it. From people's posts, I have seen that it is not uncommon to improve their scores well over a 100 points from all CRAs in as little as 1 year.

That being said... should I first be worried about the collections (3) or the negative accounts(2)? The 2 negative accounts were "Charged off" and sold to CAs. I wasn't sure if you can remove one without removing the other? Also, do you go for newer or older accounts first? Do you just make an offer, at say, 75% or 50% owed? That being said I just need advice on how to remove these items that are lowering my score. All of the accounts are about half way to the SOL, but I would rather take care of them anyways without waiting longer.

Any advice is greatly appreciated,

Marty

Starting Score: TU 629 6/2013
Current Score: TU 697 (March'14) EQ 688 (April'14) EX 693 (March '14)
Goal Score: 700

The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.
Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Rebuilding Credit

Welcome to the forums!

I'd suggest reading the following:

Common Abbreviations