cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebuilding Journey (Home ownership goal and dealing with FCO apartment collection)

tag
andemalia
Contributor

Rebuilding Journey (Home ownership goal and dealing with FCO apartment collection)

Hello all

I have been rebuilding for about 4 months now.

My scores havent improved that much (Fico 573 to about 607 now). 

I went from having 4/5 collections on my reports to having 2 left. 

One of them is midland with whom I have tried PFD, they instead added that I am disputing the debt.

My most important concern is this $1248 with FCO for an apartment from which we moved out in August 2012. It was reported in march 2013; I know the debt is ours and won't go into the details of the how and why but was ready to pay it in full for deletion. I just spoke with a manager at FCO and he told me they simply don't do that period. 

The best he could go is a letter stating it's paid in full in addition to reporting it as PIF but that won't help me scorewise although I know I will need to pay it anyhow an should work on it soon.

I am just trying to have a look at my credit repairing strategy as a whole. 

Midland ($1089 but has been offering me settlement letters for $600) and FCO are the last collections on 2 of my reports and I want them gone. Should I just PIF fo FCO? For Midland, the SOL has expired so wont PIF unless they accept PFD.

I have gotten 2 secured CC, BoA and Cap1 both for $300. I am about to add some cash to the Cap1 to increase the limit.

I got 2 collections deleted.

I have no lates since Nov 2012 except for the Midland updating in Dec2012 and FCO in March 2013.

I just refinanced my car loan with cap1 for $8500 at 16% after a previous loan for $10,000 for 24% with another lender with no lates (had it for 8 months until refinance).