Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebuilding... where do I begin?

tag
CashBuyer
New Visitor

Rebuilding... where do I begin?

Hi guys!  I'm new at all of this stuff, so please be gentle.  Smiley Tongue

Anyway, in 2000 my (ex)husband and I filed Chapter 7 to discharge about 15k in credit cards, two car repossessions and a few other misc things.  He and I divorced in 2001, at which time I decided to live a "simpler" life without debt.  I rented an apartment where all my utilities were included, I drove an old car  that was paid off, and I incurred ZERO debt/credit liabilities.  No credit cards, no loans, prepaid cell service, if I didn't have the cash, I didn't buy it.

Last week my car finally gave up, and at a time that I didn't have the cash to fix it.  In desperation, I decided to apply for a car loan, and was shocked when the only place willing to finance me wanted $1600 down on a 21k loan, and more outrageously at a 18% APR.  A buy here-pay here place wanted info and contact info on like every relative and friend I had.  No thanks.  This spurred me to check my credit after 14 years.  Ordering my combined credit reports, Equifax and Experian required that I contact them via mail. Somewhere along the line I got a message about a "thin file." TransUnion was available, and this is what I found:

* Name, SSN were correct

* My TransUnion report said I had been on their files since 1993

* The address I've lived at for the past 13 years was not listed.  A "Special Messsage" on the bottom of my report says that my address is a hotel/motel or temporary housing.  (the front two building of the complex are available as daily rentals, but the majority of units are all inclusive monthly rentals)

* My old address from 1998 was listed, as well as 9 other addresses I am unfamiliar with. (in 2 other states)

* 9 phone numbers were listed.  None correct.

* My current employment data reflects the correct information, verified in 2000  (18 years at same employer)