Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Refresh my memory on debt validation

tag
qtssima
Established Member

Refresh my memory on debt validation

I have an Experian entry from a CA who I sent a debt validation letter to and I got no response.

When disputing the entry with Experian, I provided copies of the letter requesting validation, and the Return Receipt. Experian has noted that I have disputed the debt, but the debt is still there. Will it ever be removed? Should I try disputing again? It has been awhile since I have had to do any credit repair, so I am a little rusty. Thanks!

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
KnewBee
New Contributor

Re: Refresh my memory on debt validation

Hi! I am not an expert on this, but since no one else had responded, I will try since i have done a lot of reading on this. Did you ever receive an initial dunning letter on the debt and if so when? If you did not then you may have an FDCPA violation as a DV letter is considered timely if you never received a dunning notice from the CA.  Your next step from what I have read would be to send a second request to the CA  and/or you can file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Also I would reccomend you do a web search on the particular CA as there is often information about what strategies work best for particular CAs. If you are comfortable posting the name of the CA here, you may want to do that as others here may be able share what has worked for that particular CA. If you did receive an initial dunning letter and did not respond within 30 days, please advise, you may still have some other options depending on if the collection information is accurate or inaccurate and how it is being posted. I hope this helps! 

Starting Scores: 9/19/2012 EQ 613 / TU 526 / EX 543
Current Scores: EQ 716 TU 724 EX 724 Goal Scores: 700
Message 2 of 10
Shogun
Moderator Emeritus

Hello and welcome to the forums.