Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Removing Auth user from report in prep for a mortgage loan

tag
khw
Regular Contributor

Removing Auth user from report in prep for a mortgage loan

Hey everyone!

I have a question I hope I can get help with, I've tried searching but come up with conflicting answers. Two years ago I added my husband to a citi card I applied for with a $9500 cli  and 0% apr, we consolidated our other CC balances and it was close to the limit at around $8500, I realized this was a bad idea for his ulti and I had him removed from the card last December because we knew we would be buying with only him on the loan this year (I am in my last year of nursing school with no current income) Anyway this afternoon we checked his credit reports and the card is still showing on transunion only, but the last time it reported was December and that showed a $8000 balance and a $121 payment, I have since paid it down to $5000. I don't know if they are counting this into his utilization, but transunion is his lowest score by about 40 points with everything else the same so I'm guessing it is. Anyway he did an online dispute as "not my account" to see if they would remove it and I rememebered after he did it that I don't think you can close a mortgage loan until all disputes are off the reports, so I think we just made a huge mistake! We are going to talk to our mortgage officer next week but we wont actually apply until our current house sells so it could be weeks to 6 months or more before we need to apply. 

If they remove the account will the fact we had a dispute be removed from the report too? Is there anything else I can do at this point? Also does anyone have any idea how long it will take to hear back from TU? I didn't see anything on the site but I thought they had a limited amount of time to investigate.

Thanks so much for any advice!

Starting Score: 480-550 in 2005
Current Score: 761 TU/764 EQ - 08/1/2013 /754 EX 12/15/12
Goal Score: 800