cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Resolving high credit utilization with opening a new credit card - Implications and Remedies

tag
YellowJacket
Visitor

Resolving high credit utilization with opening a new credit card - Implications and Remedies

Hi all!  27 year old newbie here trying to better my credit score to get the best rates for a mortgage (so excited and terrified!)

I have a $9,600 credit card balance with a limit of $13,000.  I opened up a new credit card with a limit of $3,000 that offers $0 balance transfer and 0% apr for 15 months.  My intent was to transfer $3000 into the new card so that I can reduce the accumulated interest on the old card while paying $200 on both cards every month.

Currently I have good credit with a score of 734 (experian),  729 (transunion), and 730 (equifax). All of them list "High balance to credit limits too high on revolving accounts" as #1 in the factors affecting my credit score, so naturally I'm worried about doing anything that would further aggravate this.

Will utilizing all the available credit on the new card hurt my credit and thereby reduce my chances of getting the best interest rate on a mortgage (I'm thinking USDA or FHA)?

My thoughts are that my overall credit utilization will be lower with the addition of a new credit line, but the individual utilization on the new card will be 100%.  I know the overall utilization affects your credit score, but does each individual account utilization matter as well?

Scenario 1: Do nothing
Card 1 utilization: 73.8%
Card 2 utilization: 0%
Average utilization on revolving credits: 36.9% (average of utilizations is this even used?)
Overall utilization on revolving credits: 60% (sum of balances / sum of credit limits)

Scenario 2: Do balance transfer
Card 1 utilization: 50.8%
Card 2 utilization: 100%
Average utilization on revolving credits: 75.4%
Overall utilization on revolving credits: 60%

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
YellowJacket
Visitor