Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SOL discouraging

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

SOL discouraging

Recently I moved from Iowa to Illinois. Had made some really stupid financial decisions back in Iowa that are now haunting me, just like most people here. Anyhow, today I learned that the SOL in Iowa is 10 years for the types of debts I have in collections. While I understand paying debts is always better than just having them removed from your CR and forgetting them, my current take home is $800 a month. (I'm a student so I don't have time to work more than part time). With the SOL being so long the worry of being sued is obviously there. Having already been sued for a $600 CO from CreditOne, my fears are pretty legitimate! Any advice on how to tackle my debts? I would love to write PFD letters, but I know I can't PIF if that's their compromise. My biggest concern is a Verizon collection for $1400. Funny when I ditched Verizon I was originally only charged the ETF of $350, and it has ballooned that much.
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: SOL discouraging

Maybe someone else has some better tips- but I would just start a payment plan with these debts so they can't sue you. Get a Visa gift card and load the monthly payments (they should allow you to pay very little at a time) and use that instead of giving them your debit card info.
Message 2 of 4
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

@Anonymous wrote: