Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sample PFD letter

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Sample PFD letter

Thanks to Tuscani's PFD sample, I was able to draft one of my own. This is my first time so go easy on my mistakes. 

Please feel free to edit and repost a better version. Also feel free to edit my grammatical mistakes. 

Ace05
Your address

Collection Agency
PO Box 12345
City, State, Zip

Re: Collection Account number 000000XXXXXXX

To whom it may concern:

This letter is being sent to you in response to a collection account mentioned above, which appears in my credit report. I do not have access to the complete account number since I am not familiar with this specific account. The partial number I just provided is based on my Experian credit report.

While I accept no responsibility for the ownership of this account nor is this a promise to pay and is not a payment agreement. I am willing to pay off (settlement amount) of this account as a show of goodwill due to our mutual benifit. Given, you provide me with a written response on your company letterhead and signed by an authorized representative of collection agency, agreeing following conditions:

1) Collection agency will delete ALL references to this account from my credit report from all 3 bureaus (Experian, Equifax and Transunion)
2) Collection agency will accept this payment as "paid as agreed/paid in full" and will not report this account here on to any credit buraus, after it's complete delition as mentioned in (1)
3) Your company will not sell or transfer the debt to another creditor, after it is "paid as agreed/paid in full" as mentioned in (2)

Also for my safety and security of my identity, and to make sure, I am communicating with the rightful organization who owns the debt. Please provide me with following:

1) A copy of any signed agreement debtor has made with debt collector or other verifiable proof debtor has a contractual obligation to pay debt collector