Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Screwed up before I found this forum, HELP

tag
750orbust
Frequent Contributor

Screwed up before I found this forum, HELP

Before I found out about this forum Portfolio Recovery Associates called me and I answered (stupid me) and I set up payment arrangements with them on two old accounts that they now own. I was stupid and set up automatic bank drafts with them for like $55 a month on each account. During the call they offered me a settlement amount on the larger account which was $1700 and they agreed to reduce it to $900. So anyways, I've been paying them for about four or five months now and a couple of days ago I received a "payment reminder" from them in the mail that list the current balance on the larger account at $1,646 dollars. This pisses me off because not only did they not honor their settlement agreement but they are also still adding interest onto the account. So looking at it today pretty much looks as if I haven't made them a single payment.

Both of these accounts are well out of the SOL and the letter they sent me as a payment reminder even says "Because of the age of your debt, we will not sue you for it and we will not report it to any credit reporting agency." So I'm not worried about getting sued. Our agreement was for me to pay $55 a month on each account. One account for six months the other for twelve I think. Anyways by them adding interest and not honoring our settlement agreement I will never be able to get this paid off using the payment plan we arranged. I was going to pay the arranged amount but now since they're are pulling this crap I refuse to pay them one dime more than the original amount which is a total of $500 between both cards.