Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scully's Rebuilding Journey! - UPDATE 11/19/15

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Scully's Rebuilding Journey! - UPDATE 11/19/15

Hi all! I've recently started on the credit rebuilding journey, and have begun to make some progress, but I have oh so much more to go. I'd like to use this thread as a way for me to keep track of my progress, as well as to receive any and all feedback and tips any of you great members have to offer! I've created a chart to outline my current credit profile to show where I stand, as well as what I have done so far and what I plan to do in the future.

I work full-time and I am a full-time student in nursing school. My goal is to be able to finance a new car next year (because my old clunker broke down and taking the city bus at the moment is just, ugh). I have NO revolving credit. None. Student loans on deferrment are all the credit I have, other than that I have a bunch of medical collections. So here is what I have and what I am currently doing.

For the record, I live in Louisiana, and my state's current SOL for debts, including medical, is 3 years.

Currently:

• I have 4 student loans in good standing, on deferrment as I am a full-time student.
  • I was approved on 09/19/2015 for a Capital One Secured Visa card, I put down a $200 deposit. My deposit was cleared on 09/21/15, currently waiting on the card.
  • I was approved on 09/19/2015 for a Discover It secured card, I put down a $200 deposit. My deposit was cleared on 09/21/2015, currently waiting on the card.
  • I was approved on 09/08/2015 for a small $250 installment loan for 6 months, and I just made the 1st payment yesterday. 
  • I am looking to possibly add one more secured card -- US Bank's HD secured card, so that I will have 3 revolving lines of credit to get me started.