Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Secured Card Charge Off

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Secured Card Charge Off

My husband had a secured card ($300) that was charged off a few years ago. When he paid it off he paid well over the balance on the card (because of the late fees) but it doesn't appear that the $300 put up to secure the card in the first place was taken into account in figuring what he owed. It was paid a long time ago, so I'm mainly just curious here - but is there anything in the credit card agreement that forfeits the money on a secured card if the card is defaulted?

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
laz98
Senior Contributor

Re: Secured Card Charge Off

disclaimer:  i have never had a secured card, so i'm not an expert!  Smiley Very Happy

i would guess that if you went bad on your account, they would take the money.  i can't imagine why they would give it back to you (or anyone).  seems like they would be shooting themselves in the foot, you know?

Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

But I mean, in theory if you charged $300 worth of stuff and then stopped making payments, you've really already paid for that $300 worth of stuff. They can't come after you and say you owe us $300 for the stuff you've just charged. You've already paid the $300 when you secured the card, right?

So hubby went overdue and charged off, so of course there were late fees, etc. Ultimately the bank came after him for $530, which he paid in full. But if he owed $530 on the card, when he paid it off on a closed account shouldn't it have been $530 minus $300 already given to the bank to secure the card?

Message 3 of 7
laz98
Senior Contributor