Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Secured loans and Secured Credit Cards--From a Credit Union

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Secured loans and Secured Credit Cards--From a Credit Union

Hello all,

This thread is specifically regarding the shared services offered through some credit union

I'm a newbie in this overwhelming world of credit rebuiding.  I have done serveral searches and the more I read, the more I confuse myself.  Can someone please clarify for me like i'm a 5 year old the questions I have regarding the two account types from a credit union, not from a bank.  My specific questions are these:

1.  Secured loans- what happens to the original deposit at the end of the loan term after you satisfy your requirement?  I keep reading about the more you pay down it unlocks your deposit.  So if i put up 500 (its now locked) and they give me 500.  I make all my payments, what happens to my original locked 500? Does that mean I get my money back?

2. Secure credit cards-

How long does it typically take for it to unlock and become unsecured?

Once it becomes unsecured, will they automatically increase the credit limit?  If so typically by how much?  

Again what happens to your original deposit once it becomes unsecured because credit cards are revolving debt

Also, if anyone has any real world experience with these please list the credit union and share.

Thanks

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Secured loans and Secured Credit Cards--From a Credit Union

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello all,

This thread is specifically regarding the shared services offered through some credit union

I'm a newbie in this overwhelming world of credit rebuiding.  I have done serveral searches and the more I read, the more I confuse myself.  Can someone please clarify for me like i'm a 5 year old the questions I have regarding the two account types from a credit union, not from a bank.  My specific questions are these: