Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Seeking feedback on my credit repair plan

tag
seetheworld1

Seeking feedback on my credit repair plan

Hi, guys,

I am new to credit awareness and this board but I’ve found your comments tremendously educational and I’m ready to tackle my credit problems. Here’s my situation: I checked my credit report and scores for the first time two weeks ago and this is what I found:

Scores: 593; 632; 649.

Collections: Several medical bills from 2008 (six for around $200 each). I disputed them online and they were actually deleted! Whoa. It works. There is another collection for $1500 that wasn’t deleted and was updated last month. It’s from the same CA as the other smaller ones that were, so I’m not sure of my next step. I don’t want to do anything to cause them to re-add those other ones. Should I HIPAA the CRAs first or the CA?

Derogatory/Public Records: 1 IRS tax lien, satisfied in 2011. They now have a program where they will remove liens from public records and I applied for that last week. Fingers crossed. There’s also a default civil judgment from 2010 which I’ve also paid. Should I try a GW letter to the OC or their attorney? Or GW letter to the CRAs? I actually don’t remember being served this lawsuit (hence the default judgment) but I’m going to go the courthouse and check the record of how they served. Maybe they served a past address and maybe that would be grounds to have  it vacated. It’s a long shot, I know.

That’s it for negatives. As for positives, I have one car loan that I got 2 ½ years ago. The interest rate is 17 percent but I wasn’t going to get a better offer and I needed a car as my old one had died. I wouldn’t be able to refinance because I owe less than $7,000 on the loan.