Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shopping Cart Trick -- Success?

tag
realnapster
Established Member

Shopping Cart Trick -- Success?

Hello Everyone,

I would like to let everyone know my shopping card trick success story. Dating back to 2010, when I was a student I applied for citi twice in a month and approved for two of them with 3000 and 1500 credit limits. I also applied for a discover  card which was only appoved for 500. Fast fprwarding to 2012, I have graduated from college with all these cards maxed out. While looking for a job and unaware of the importance of good credit, I ignored payments and within 4 months I had all these cards either charged off or closed. I also had a little collection account from ATT($175). I didn't really care for all the calls from these credit card companies or mails.

I have aquired a job with 90k and going 6 months into it, I felt the need for a credit card to rent a car or book a hotel. I applied for boa thinking I would get a card just like when I first applied. I was instantly denied(ofcourse now I know why). Then, I started looking into my credit report and my score was 545. Paid all the balances and the collection account. I only saw a 12 point increase. I came to know few things on how to rebuild my credit from here and had applied for a cap one secured card(03/13) with initial an initial credit limit of 500 and bumped it to 1000 in 2 months. I have managed to get a car loan for 32k with a cosigner and this helped the mix. 6 months later I received a $300 CLI on cap one and my score was only sitting on 600(03/14).

I took a credit advice and came to know that I should have multiple credit cards to see any movement in my credit report and was told to write a GW letter the only collection account I had. It didn't work. I disputed and it worked.Smiley Happy I saw my fico scores jump to EQ:651 and TU:678. I applied for boa secured card and DCU secured loan. Now I have 2 revolving accounts and 2 lnstallment accounts.