Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I try for a PFD?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Should I try for a PFD?

I've been so grateful over the last 2 years of trying to rebuild my credit for the information found on these forms. This is my first time posting! 

I have one baddie left of my credit report and I'm considering trying for a PFD.  Because it is the only negative thing on my report I'm sure it's dragging my score down a lot. It is a charged off secured credit card from 1st Progress. It says it is a Charge-off, past due amount of $142, first went negative in July 2013. I called around 2 years ago to request a PFD and they said no. I have never been contacted from a CA about this debt so I'm not sure if the original creditor 1st Progress still owns it or not. 

Should I try calling again to request a PFD or send a letter first? Would that letter be sent to the address listed on my credit report? If I get denied for the PFD should I just go ahead and pay in full and if I do do you think it would it help my score significantly?

P.S. My Experian FICO 663, I have 2 credit cards with low credit limits and never missed a payment, one is 2 years old, one is 3 years old. I have one installment car loan that I just paid off early after 2 years.

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Should I try for a PFD?

@Anonymous wrote:

I've been so grateful over the last 2 years of trying to rebuild my credit for the information found on these forms. This is my first time posting!