Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Status of Limitations Verses 7 years on your credit

tag
monieleazenby
Established Member

Status of Limitations Verses 7 years on your credit

I wanted to know what it means the status of limitations does that apply in terms of the whole 7 years? This is my first time trying to clean my credit up, when I'm looking at my credit report do I look at the "Date Reported" or "DLA" Date Open? For older debts I need to make sure I'm not chasing after due to the status of limitations. I know nothing about any of this it's all new to me. Before I even start to wipe out any debt I need to know what the status of limitation is referred too, is it based on my credit report?

Again full details would be of great help

Monie

Starting Score: 591
Current Score: 480
Goal Score: 720

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
DaBears
Senior Contributor

Re: Status of Limitations Verses 7 years on your credit

Once a debt passes beyond the statute of limitation in your state, a debt collector no longer has the right to sue you for payment. You may still have a moral obligation to pay back an old, forgotten debt, but you can't be sued over it.

Any debt collector who threatens to sue you over a debt that is beyond the statute of limitation in your state is in violation of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act.

Message 2 of 5
Shogun
Moderator Emeritus

Statute of limitations deals with how long you can be sued and garnished for the debt.  This varies from state to state.  The date that "starts the clock" for this is the DOFD which is the Date of First Delinquency.  This is when the debt went in arrears and was not brought current.