Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student Loan Rehab program?

tag
jcstarkey8826
Established Contributor

Student Loan Rehab program?

about a year ago I had a student loan removed from my credit report for paying it off in 9 months. at the same time, another student loan that was in collections told me they couldnt do that program because it was in collections. Ive been reading online, and people are saying this isnt true. Can I do the government rehab program on student loans even in collections? do i need to contact the OC? I would love to pay for delete. Also I had a CC with discover when I was an 18yr old college student, owed $300, after fees and everything else it went up to $1100, anyone have any success with pay for delete with discover? and if so can you pay for delete the judgement as well as the debt, if i get it in writing?

In my wallet: Discover it 6800 CL, Capital One Quicksilver Sig 5k CL, Chase Freedom 4k CL, GCU Patinum Visa 1500 CL
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
apandabear
Regular Contributor

Re: Student Loan Rehab program?

Pretty sure this belongs in the Student Loans board, but I can speak to the rehab program.

I was laid off in 2009, and student loans were the first thing I started to ignore. Everything else went to hell after that. 

I've been recovering and rebuilding and working some good jobs recently, but it wasn't until my Federal Tax Return was hijacked (offset) this year that I bothered to start paying.

My account had gone from Sallie Mae (Original Creditor) to USA Funds (Guarantor?) to a collection agency (Allied Interstate). Sallie Mae would not talk to me. USA Funds would not talk to me. I had to deal with the CA.