Howdy Y'all,

I am student with a poor credit history. Here is the dirt:

Equifax: 599 account age 4 months

One open account (Student loan) of 263 in good standing

Experian: 579 account age 4 months

Transunion: 585 account age 2 years 11 months

two accounts in collections for $285 and $505 that were paid in full several months ago

one account in collections for $151 that was PAID today, dispute open, and should be changed within 30 days.

I have applied for many unsecured credit cards, even those with high interest rates, and found nothing. I was also just rejected for a secured credit card through my bank for $500

from student grants, I have a yearly income of about $21000 and pay $575 in rent.

What can I do to improve my credit?? I am extremely new to this so any all information is appropiate.

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Whitneyy
Valued Contributor

Re: Student with bad credit

Welcome to the forums!

Since you paid off your collections, you could send off Goodwill letters asking them to delete the CLs, it doesn't always work and takes persistence, but seeing how you already paid your balance, I have read here that some collection agencies will remove them with no issue, its just a matter of sending off your letters.

GOAL - 700 FICO across the board!
Message 2 of 8
baller4life
Super Contributor

@Whitneyy wrote:

Welcome to the forums!

Since you paid off your collections, you could send off Goodwill letters asking them to delete the CLs, it doesn't always work and takes persistence, but seeing how you already paid your balance, I have read here that some collection agencies will remove them with no issue, its just a matter of sending off your letters.

+1

Also try secured cards from Cap 1 and Bank of America. You need to build some positive revolving history to increase scores.

Message 3 of 8
sailoholic
New Visitor