cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Success!..... What Next???

tag
ready4theworld

Success!..... What Next???

I have been reading these forumss for a couple of years now, and I would like to thank everyone for providing such useful information and sharing your stories. I am one of those people that thought that I would NEVER be able to obtain any credit.

Long story short, when I first found this community my credit scores were in the 400's across the board mainly due to accepting every line of credit I was offered in college, with no understanding of the credit system or how to properly manage my finances. Once I graduated, I had also had a ton of student loans that went into default (about $60,000 worth.)Not to mention, that while I had a ton of fradulent entries to my credit report due to Identiy theft. 

I make decent money, but anytime I would apply for ANYTHING I either got a flat out denial, or when it came to things like cell phones, they wanted astronimical desposits. I learned to live solely off cash and carry.

After coming here I put a plan of action together. The first was to address the ID theft. I was able to get everything deleted after allot of time, patience, and consistency in dealing with the CRAs and CAs. Needless to say, that was no easy feat.

Feeling confident, I then started attacking my actual deliquencies and managed to get them to do "pay for deletes." After seeing a jump in my score (not a massive jump) I then decided to get on top of those student loans. I did a consolodation, and then asked the orginal serving companies if they would remove the entries on my report. Some did, some did not. However they will fall off in time so I just let that alone and got on the path of actually apllying for credit.