Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Suing a Collection Agency

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Suing a Collection Agency

I've been reading up a little about this but I admit I'm a little confused on how to go about it.  One debt is for $1200 but it went up $50 after my last dispute. The Other debt is for $800.. I've tried to dispute both of them several times. Even sent them papers from consumer.ftc.gov NOTHING. 

Can someone point me in the right direction on how to get the ball started? 

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Suing a Collection Agency

What are the grounds of your suit?
Message 2 of 8
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Next steps depend both upon the basis for the prior dispute and its formal outcome.

What is the asserted inaccuracy, and what was the outcome as stated in the Notice of Results of Reinvestigation?

Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

I've been disputing since Early 2015 if not earlier TBH. I've sent in Debt Validation Letters, proof that it was identity theft.

CA #1 for $1200 replies back to any dispute as veriified. I've sent them debt validation letters and it comes back as undeliverable even though I called them for the address. I also used the address listed under my credit report. 

CA #2 for $800 also replies back to any dispute as verified. I've also sent them DVL and they did respond with the OC but it isn't mine. 

I guess my grounds for suing would be because I am unable to get a new apartment because of these debts. I'm not sure. I just know CA #1 started reporting later year. And CA #2 has been reporting for about 3 years. 

Message 4 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

If it's identity theft all you need to do is follow the steps on https://www.identitytheft.gov and send a dispute to the CRA with a copy of the police report. Wouldn't hurt to also send a copy to the OC or CA.

Message 5 of 8
titanofold
Established Contributor

@Anonymous wrote: