cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Synchrony PFD 3 lates with balance transfer?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Synchrony PFD 3 lates with balance transfer?

Did  some searching and couldn't really find a concrete answer to this.  I have a Care Credit (Synchrony) account that's in current good standing that I owe around $4k on.  Did not miss a payment in 2012-2013 or 2015-2016 but DID have 3 late payments in 2014 (30, 30, 60).  I was going to scoop up the Discover It card next month, the one with the 18 month 0% balance transfer option.  What are my chances of contacting Synchrony and telling them I'm willing to pay off the $4k left on the account if they are willing to remove those 3 late payments from 2014?  Is my best means of going down this route calling them?  Do I ask them to send me a letter or email first agreeing to remove those 3 lates upon receiving my payment?  I've never tried anything like this before.  I've been sending them GW letters for a couple of months now and have never received a reply, positve or negative.

I figure I can pay off the $4k within 18 months on the Discover It card with no interest with roughly a $120 transfer fee rather than pay a little over $1000 in interest to Synchrony over the same time period if I just continue to pay as I am now, plus the baddies will still be there in the end.

Any thoughts or suggestions on this one anyone?

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Burned2manybridgesB4
Valued Contributor

Re: Synchrony PFD 3 lates with balance transfer?

If I tried that, with my luck, the CSA would interpret my "paying the bill for the lates being removed," as a threat of not paying at all if I didn't get what I wanted.Smiley Frustrated

They have you by the short hairs. It's an active account, with a balance. They don't care if you PIF, as they'll get their money either way, later being more profitable for them.