Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The affects of collection accounts on your score

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

The affects of collection accounts on your score

Hey everybody just have a quick question to which I've been unable to find an answer on. I have been working on my credit for two months now and after a visit with my broker I was excited to find out that I'm just shy of approval by 28 points. Since then I have successfully "paid to delete" two collection accounts that were reported about four months ago totaling over $600.00. I know it varies greatly but how much do collection accounts really affect your score? Think I'll get the 28 points? I also had my fiance who has great credit add me as an authorized user on one of her oldest cards with a very low balance and 0 late payments...Thanks in advance...
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus

Re: The affects of collection accounts on your score

@Anonymous wrote:
Hey everybody just have a quick question to which I've been unable to find an answer on. I have been working on my credit for two months now and after a visit with my broker I was excited to find out that I'm just shy of approval by 28 points. Since then I have successfully "paid to delete" two collection accounts that were reported about four months ago totaling over $600.00. I know it varies greatly but how much do collection accounts really affect your score? Think I'll get the 28 points? I also had my fiance who has great credit add me as an authorized user on one of her oldest cards with a very low balance and 0 late payments...Thanks in advance...

Welcome to the forums.

No one can say for sure just how much this will help but having two recent collections removed usually means an increase. Alot depends on what the rest of your credit is like. Do you have any more negative items? Is your revolving utilization low?

Optimal credit utilization for FICO scoring purposes seems to be: