Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The problem with Missing Data on Credit Reports

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

The problem with Missing Data on Credit Reports

Its been almost a year since I started my journey to credit understanding, and six months since I started to truly understand what data makes up the Credit Reports that govern our financial worthiness. 

Because I work in IT, and on data every single day - I decided to truly understand the credit reporting file elements (Metro2 Standard File Specs), and how they land in the major CRA's. Part of my journey, is to simply own what is reported about me - and expect it to be complete, lawful and accurate. 

Earlier this year, I watched my reports daily for traceable changes and I began to challenge the CRA's with the data I saw in printed, raw and online reporting sites. They varied in accuracy and completness, and when challenged/disputed, they morphed into records that were missing key details and updated with attributes that left them simply orphaned. 

When I disputed a line item, this account, BOA - had the payment history removed. That sole action, dropped my score by Vantage score by 84 points (their score that is provided) and by 40 points on FICO, and in a single day. It became clear that this key information, and not just its state - impacted how we are rated and reported. The CRA's denied this, for almost 5 months, before the shadily removed the orphaned account. I expected my scored to rebound, my views online showed payment histories..but when I ordered the printed raw reports directly from them, it was a different story. 

I challenge everyone to look at the completeless of a Tradeline/Credit Grantor (Not Debt Collection account as they CANNOT have a payment history). If any required piece of that account/record is missing, especially the pay history, dispute it.