Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thin credit file- can't generate a credit score

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thin credit file- can't generate a credit score

Hi! I'm brand new to credit of any kind. My husband and I have been married 15 years now and aside from a few dumb mistakes with credit cards when we were newlyweds, we had sworn off buying anything we could not save up for and pay for up front, including cars. We decided it was time to buy a home and now I've saved $20,000 for a down payment and I'm trying to get our credit scores prior to applying for a mortgage (because, well, we'll be in our seventies by the time I save up the entire cost of a home for us, haha! Not really but we don't want to wait forever while paying rent!) but I can't get any credit report services to even generate a score for us. It says our credit files do not contain enough data to do so. After reading here all afternoon I just applied for a secured credit card with a limit of $300- what else should I do? I really had hoped with a 20% downpayment our credit scores wouldn't be much of an issue. Our monthly income before taxes is close to $7,000 and we're applying for a mortgage for $100,000 and have no debt at all. I just want to know how to proceed from here if anyone can help. Thanks in advance! 

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Thin credit file- can't generate a credit score

@Anonymous wrote: