Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tips to take care of collections

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Tips to take care of collections

I am new to this so I hope I am doing it right.  I hope this is where I can get free advice.  I have been working on improving my credit for the last 2 years and have almost gotten into the okay range.  Right now I am about at 610.  I think the main things that hurt me are 7 accounts that I currently have in collections.  I see people post something about a pdf to send to collection companies to make a settlement offer.  How do I get this?  Also I have one negative account with capital one that I dont know the best way to take care of.  On my report it says

Account NameCAP ONE  
Account #   
Account TypeCredit Card  
Balance$3,224.00  
Date Opened5/1/2002  

Account StatusClosed  
  Mo. Payment   
  Past Due$3,224.00  
  Payment StatusCharge-off  
  High Balance$3,224.00  
  Limit   
  TermsRevolving  
  CommentsCredit line closed-grantor request-reported by subscriber

It doesn't give me a current collections agency so I don't know how to try and make a settlement offer or if I even can.  Also I have 3 or 4 accounts in medical collections.  Is there a way to offer a settlement to pay them off.  If anyone can help me I would appreciate it.  I have been working a lot of overtime trying to pay stuff off and raise my credit and I want to make the best and most informed decision before paying off a bunch of stuff that might not help me out much.  Thank you.

Message 1 of 2
1 REPLY 1
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Tips to take care of collections

Welcome to the forums!

I'd suggest reading the following:

Common Abbreviations

Credit Scoring 101 - great for knowing what is in your credit score and to see how your score is impacted.

What Steps Do I Take - great for learning the repair process.

and Example letters - PFDs, GWs, DVs, etc.