Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to Rebuild Credit to start a Family

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Trying to Rebuild Credit to start a Family

Hello everyone, Im new to the site and am enjoying reading all the post and responses. I'm in the same situation as Mr. Wyatt. I started building my credit in 2004 and was doing really well until 2008. I lost my job and the collectors started calling but sept of last year I went back to work and finally have enough money to pay off all this debt. i guess my question is, how to go about paying it off so it could be removed from the credit report. The two i've paid off are still on there with a zero balance. Is there anyway to get them removed. Thanks

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
-Cain-
Valued Contributor

Re: Trying to Rebuild Credit to start a Family

If they are paid, write goodwill letters to whomever had the accounts.
Message 2 of 6
guiness56
Epic Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello everyone, Im new to the site and am enjoying reading all the post and responses. I'm in the same situation as Mr. Wyatt. I started building my credit in 2004 and was doing really well until 2008. I lost my job and the collectors started calling but sept of last year I went back to work and finally have enough money to pay off all this debt. i guess my question is, how to go about paying it off so it could be removed from the credit report. The two i've paid off are still on there with a zero balance. Is there anyway to get them removed. Thanks

I would always send a DV letter to the CA reporting first.  If they validate, send a PFD.

For the ones paid you will need to send GW letters.

Don't send the DV letters if you can't pay in full.  They could end up suing you.

Message 3 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

What's all the abbreviations stand for? I'm new to all this and tying to figure everything out

Message 4 of 6
jesirose