Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to Rebuild Credit

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Trying to Rebuild Credit

I am new to the FICO forums. I am attempting to rebuild my credit in order to purchase a home in the near future and would appreciate some advice in rebuilding my credit. 

OPEN Revolving Account - CAPITAL ONE

Balance = $157

CL = $200

(2) 30-days

(2) 60-days

CLOSED by Credit Grantor - Charged off Account - BOA

Balance = $4,774

CL = $0

Numerous 30/60/90/120/150/180 day lates since 2003

CLOSED by Credit Grantor - Charged off Account - BOA 

Balance = $3,056

CL = $0

Numerous 30/60/90/120/150/180 day lates since 2004

COLLECTION - Rental/Leasing

Balance  = $180

These are the only items listed on my credit report. I currently only have one account (Capital One) open. I now have the funds to completely pay off all accounts. I need advice on what method to use in order to get a pay for delete on the closed charge off accounts and collection. Should I send a GW letter for the closed BOA accounts? And send a DV letter for the collection? Any guidance would be appreciated. Thank you.

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
stan_the_man
Established Contributor

Re: Trying to Rebuild Credit

For the open Capital One account, it is best if your reported utilization is 9% or less of your credit limit -- so a balance of $18 or less.

For the collection, you need to determine whether they are the original creditor or a collection agency. If they are the original creditor, then you would want to send a PFD (Pay For Delete) letter. If they are a Collection Agency, then a DV letter followed by PFD letter would be appropriate (though in some cases you can pursue having the OC recall the collection and PIF them).