Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to qualify for FHA-- questions about collection reporting

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Trying to qualify for FHA-- questions about collection reporting

Hi there, 

My husband and I are trying to qualify for an FHA loan to purchase relatively quickly, as I'm currently 6 months pregnant with twins. 
I am wondering if I should pay off the collection accounts in an effort to look better to qualify for an FHA loan. 

My scores are 624, 633, and 625 per myFICO. 

I have 3 outstanding items on my reports from collection agencies:

Enhanced Recovery services for Sprint cell phone bill from 2010: $396

The other two CAs are for medical bills:

NAR Inc $100

Chapman Financial $208

Outside of collections accounts, I have two credit cards I obtained when my scores were REALLY low:

CapitalOne secured card that reports every 30 days with a limit of $300. I have been paying this to zero each month for the past 4 months. 

GapCard that has a limit of $200. 

Both credit cards have no balances owed. 

My husband's credit is fairly limited. He has no accounts in collections, a mid score of 640. 

My mother in law has offered to be listed as a co-borrower. Her FICO is in the 820s. 

Any and all advice is welcome! Thank you so much. 

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: Trying to qualify for FHA-- questions about collection reporting

I would present your question to your loan officer.

They may require satisfaction of any unpaid, delinquent debt as a pre-condition to final approval.

If that is the case, you will have no option, and could send out an immediate PFD offer, thus addressing both any required satisfaction of the debt, and obtain a possible credit score improvment.

Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks, Robert! I'm wanting to improve my credit scores anyway, as it is time I grow up and manage my credit more effectively.