Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to rebuild my credit but need advice

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Trying to rebuild my credit but need advice

Hi I'm new to this. First off I was young and dumb and messed my credit up. Didn't realize that eventually I'd want a house or a newer car. So first off my Transunion score is 542 and my Equifax is 581. I have about $46,000 in debt through Navient/Sallie Mae. Not much I can do about that but pay on it. But I have at fault debt too. I have a auto loan from USAA that I was very inconsistent with up until the beginning of this year. I'm now current on it and expected to pay it off in September. have a USAA American Express card that I ran up to $1,263.29; it defaulted. I have a Capital One card that I ran to $878.76; it defaulted. I have a First Premier card that I owe $277, it defaulted. I have a Navy Federal Credit Union credit card. I actually didn't default on that. Instead they closed the account and deduct the minimum payment out of my account every month. So that's atleast reflecting positively on my credit report. I contacted all three defaulted accounts through letters to attempt to settle for deletion. I haven't heard anything back from USAA. Capital One has informed me that Portfolio Recovery Associates have brought the debt. First Premier informed me that Central Credit Card Services brought their debt. I had a collection from the VA for an overpayment on my Gi Bill. I paid that off but it shows as a paid collection. I wrote a goodwill letter and received a cold hearted 'this is your fault and all you can do is wait for it to drop off' letter.