Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Very old judgment, not in collections, but on credit report

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Very old judgment, not in collections, but on credit report

Hello!

I am fairly new to credit and recently (today!) paid off about $3k in current credit cards. I am all in good standing with those cards. My FAKO credit karma score puts me at 570s~, but my official FICO scores from Bank of America and Ally (where my car loan is), puts me at 602 for both. I haven't pulled my FICO score from here yet, but plan to.

Anyway, I have a judgment on my account. Back story - 7 years ago I shared an apartment with two other girls and they got heavy into drugs. I got approval from both the landlord and property manager to be let out of the lease. I unfortunately do not have that paperwork anymore. I was young and ignorant in college and just didn't save the papers. The other two women stayed in the apartment, but did not pay rent. Apparently, I was never taken off the lease!

So, there was a formal eviction filed, BUT nothing ever came of it. It was filed in the courts in Rhode Island, but was never persued further. The landlord ended up selling the property and the property management company is now out of business. The landlord also lived out of state. I tracked him down, called all available numbers AND sent letters to every address I could find. I've heard NOTHING back. I also called the lawyer they used to file the eviction and they unfortunately had no other information that what I already had to give me to contact the landlord or the property management company.