Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WORKING HARD TO REBUILD CREDIT....TIPS?

tag
bella1013
Contributor

WORKING HARD TO REBUILD CREDIT....TIPS?

So, in the past couple of months I've been doing as much as possible to start fixing my credit.  I paid all my debts, that sadly were in collections for a long period, off in full.  I then sent GW ltrs.  I then got a secured CC for $1,000.00 and an unsecured CC for $500.00.  I'm doing the right thing, only using approx. 10% of my limit and paying off in full every month.  I'm also considering getting a secured loan.  As I am new to all this, does anyone have any other tips on rebuilding my credit besides the obvious, paying my cc on time, etc.  Anthing else I can try doing?  I've gotten mixed reviews on the secured loan thing.  (I was going to get a 12 month secured loan and pay it off in about 5 months.  If I did it, wouldn't want to keep it on my credit more then 5 months or so because in about 6 months I will be applying for a mortgage) 

TIPS??

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
sarkell
Frequent Contributor

Re: WORKING HARD TO REBUILD CREDIT....TIPS?

Don't. Get a secured loan. You're basically paying for credit at that point. Get rid of baddies helps a lot if you can.
Cards: CSP $5k, Capital One Cash Rewards VS $3100, Discover it $3k Capital One MasterCard $600, Orchard Bank $3k, Barclays Rewards MC $1250 Gapcard $900, BR $300, Neiman Marcus $1k, Macys $1200 Walmart $500
In the garden until I can get a BCP

Starting Score: 534
Current Score: 682 EQ SW 660 TU 636 EX 3/26/13
Goal Score: 720

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 2 of 8
bella1013
Contributor

Thanks!

Message 3 of 8
DaBears
Senior Contributor

@bella1013 wrote: