Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is Fingerhut ?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

What is Fingerhut ?

i have heard bout fingerhut so many times what is it and what does it do for your credit. i have a capital one secured mastercard with a $200 limit right now should i get this fingerhut thing to help my credit. if so what is the best way to use it so i dont get into trouble with it.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: What is Fingerhut ?

Fingerhut is a mail order catalog/online vendor that offers credit lines through Webbank. They usually start out with an installment type account that 'graduates' to a revolving line of credit after several payments. They are useful in rebuilding efforts when its really tough to get approved.

Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

I've had mine about 6 months now. They are a bit overpriced but not outrageous.  Kind of like a higher priced amazon.com.  lol. They have a little bit of everything.  I started with a 400.00 credit line ,bought a small item,paid it off over 3 months,  on the 4th statement I got a bump up to 700.00. They are quite generous with clis. Hope this helps. Happy holidays! 

Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Seeing your scores you may be approved for the fresh start (low limit and you have to pay I believe 30 dollars for an item that costs 150, but i could be incorrect) you could also risk it and be approved for the regular account. I was approved for 400 yesterday and purchased the smallest item I could. It is overpriced a little bit and the shipping is ridiculous. But they report to all 3 Credit Bureaus and are very generous about Credit Limits which will be increasing your available credit. I have heard a lot of people are denied the regular account and offered the fresh start. Whatever you decide to do let us know of the outcome!!

Message 4 of 7
JennaD075
Contributor

@Anonymous wrote: